Exercise 2: Turning Pictures into Words

For this exercise, I chose the first image because I found it the most challenging. Consequently, as per my tendencies, I am not confident I will make a good enough guess as to what it is either, however, I shall give it my best shot.

The Brief: The illustration you have to produce takes place in a scientific research facility. Consider a scene where, in this research facility at the end of the day, everybody’s left for the day and the cleaning lady is busy mopping the floor, with a bucket close by. Right next to her is a control panel of sorts, which is a basically a big box about 3m tall and 10m wide, with lots of buttons, tapes, lights, analogue meters, switches and speakers; also include an extruding desk with a reading light above it and chair in front of it. Essentially, through a small doorway, from within the box, show a shrunken man walking out with his briefcase to leave for the day; the maid turns towards him, staring in amazement.

Again, I’m not sure how well I did, but hopefully I have given the artist a good enough description to engage in some research and produce the illustration.

Leave a comment