Exercise: Illustrating Visual Space

This exercise was a little monotonous but it definitely made me give a lot more thought to composition and trusting my own subconcious sense of arrangement. It basically involved my taking images of children, trees and buildings, switching them to greyscale and then arranging them in variations of scale to understand the impact of distance and composition on the value of the subjects.

The process was very simple, but the scope for composition was infinite. However, i wanted to keep as simple as I could so I could actually compare the images based on more apparent differentiations. I thus made three simple compositions using these three images:

Using these three images, I produced three different compositions seperating the subjects maintaining a foreground, a midground and a background in an attempt to understand which particular arrangement allows the most impact on a certain figure in the composition.

What I assumed was that a contrast in size would bring about a certain effect in the image, i.e., if the boy is placed in front, he becomes bigger and thus the attention to him is far more than the attention given to the other two, i.e., emphasis is applied on the boy.

However, I realised it was more important that it is easier to use the real proportions to apply emphasis. Thus, I did so in the third image, basically creating a sense of distance from the child between tree and the building, marking two different points of depth. I also took the idea of tilting the horizon a little, intensifying the movement of the boy as well as bringing emphasis to him.

Leave a comment