Exercise: Visual Metaphors

The topic for this exercise, as I chose it, was Censorship of the Press. I didn’t have to go too far with brainstorming to find an inspiration for the illustration, since a lot of censorship continues to happen currently with regard to the pandemic situation – the news channels and papers hide the actual numbers of COVID Deaths and infections in return for getting bribed by the Indian Government with more than enough doses of the vaccine for them and their families, while those who are in desperate need of those vaccines end up getting nothing and losing their loved ones, simultaneously being left with extremely high hospital bills to pay, leading to riots and violence against doctors and hospitals.

The process itself was rather straightforward, I brainstormed a little to understand how I could frame it all proportionately and meaningfully, and then sketched it out on a piece of paper. Following this I rendered it digitally.

Leave a comment