Exercise: Using Black and White

I started this exercise by choosing the word “Journey”.

Following this I made a simple and typical line drawing of a person with a bag walking with a scenery in the background, from past experiences I know that going too complex might end up compromising the rest of the process, something I take very seriously now.

As per the instructions, I was supposed to scan this image and create a negative counterpart. Due to the obvious obstructions that stop me from going to a startionary shop at this time, and my printer at home not having enough ink at the time, I had to get a little resourceful. I ended up using the metallic point of my mechanical pencil to trace the image onto a paper over a lightbox. The resulting scratches allowed me to use a pencil to shade that region of the paper and let only the scratches be unaffected. I then enhanced the darker areas with a black brush pen. The image ended up looking like this:

I then went into the collage part of it by cutting out the parts of this version and pasting them on a regular retraced version of the original, doing the bigger regions first and then moving on to the smaller more painful regions. The resulting image was rather different from what I expected to turn out to be:

As one might notice, it has this extremely minimalistic, sort of cubist theme to it, but if I look at it, it does give an idea of what it might be, but I couldn’t confirm it by myself, so I had my younger brother look at it, and he could, to some extent make out what it was. What was especially difficult was maintaining the fact that there wouldn’t be any lines in the image, which meant I had to find a way to seperate or create a clear distinction between two different objects, which I ended up achieving by going against the original and creating more shapes and regions.

Leave a comment