Exercise: A Subjective Drawing

I chose the word Glasses as my subject for this exercise, something I interact with on the daily basis. Most of the emphasis fell on the frame. 0nce I got a hang of what I was trying to bring out throught the drawings, I was able to make shapes with minor variations and specifications, things like the rectangularity of the frame could be adjusted, i.e., the could be slightly rounded, assymetrical, disconnected from each other or from the temples, causing a sort of floating effect. Thickness was another thing I played with, although I chose not to go too far with it.

Rendering was also a fun process, however, one could say I cheated by using digital media for this. Almost everything here was random, except for the lens colours, which I chose on the basis of the frame colour. I remember imagining a face or an attitude for each lens too, just to understand what kind of a person I would see wearing a pair of glasses like these, so I imagine that had a bit of influence on the colours I chose.

Leave a comment