Exercise: Spider Diagrams

This exercise was a familiar one, because I used similar means to help myself understand concepts in school. Obviously, the execution was a lot more profound this time around, since the central words were far more vague and abstract in nature. Consequently, I couldn’t resort to the usual branching method with specific subtopics to break the central term down, so I took a different approach to breaking down each word.

I took the most straightforward and impulsive route with the first word, Seaside, which may have had an adverse effect on the potential to organise it, but even that was relatively minimal.

“Angry” was vague, but something I had a lot of experience with and very concious of, so I broke it down the way I thought of it, not a particularly focused approach, more a mix of psychology and personal experience.

For a word like childhood, there are a lot of possible approaches to take, but it would be impossible to know which one is more appropriate or valid. And the topic itself is so huge, it’s difficult to cut it down into just a few words. As a result, I got a lot more disorganised with it, and ended up overcomplicating things for myself.

I decided to split Festival, the last word, into 4 subtopics that I imagined to be the most basic elements one could break it down to, there was really no significance to the number, I chose it because I’d seen other flowcharts from my school textbooks that usually branched into four or five different subtopics and assumed it was easier to break words down that way. Interestingly, that actually made the activity far more convenient, not the number itself, but the act of limiting my branches to a small number.

Leave a comment